Which Toddler Cup is Right For You?

Hi friends,

Today I’m once again attempting to help you navigate your way through the minefield that is baby shopping! Can’t relate? Just take a walk through the baby section of your local supermarket the next time you’re there; count the number of nappy brands, the different types of formula milk, the array of baby wipes, and that’s before you even get to the food section!

We are going to talk Toddler Cups, from straw, to sippy to magic (yes, magic cups!)

Since having my daughter last year, I have been continuously amazed at how many different types of one thing you can get. Baby products are not cheap, and very often you find yourself at home with something that is just not what you thought it would be…

Enter parenting bloggers (*gracious bow*); hopefully reviews like this can help you with your purchasing decisions. As always, all opinions are my own and I’ve tried to be as thorough as possible, but feel free to leave a question below if you have one!

Toddler Cups Review NUK Nuby Born Free Munchkin

At around the one-year mark, babies are encouraged to use some type of cup to drink their beverages from. Some parents start much earlier (from 6 months alongside the introduction of food) but we waited a while longer as Khadija was just not ready. Now, at 16 months, she’s able to hold her cup and drink from it herself! Here are the ones she has used:

The Born Free Training Cup

Born Free Sippy Cup

Rating: 4/10
RRP: £4.99

This was the first cup I bought for Khadija, and I won’t beat around the bush: I didn’t like it. It’s quite fiddly to put together; the white handles need to go on first, but when you screw the top part on, it won’t always be aligned with the handles. So to get it all straightened up, you have to move the handles around and screw, then move some more… Its just all so unnecessary.

If that was the only problem, I wouldn’t be too disappointed. But then, this happened:

Born Free Sippy Cup

Not long after we’d had it, the spout “ripped.” Khadija didn’t even have her top teeth at the time, so it wasn’t her fault!

The only positives are that its BPA free, dishwasher safe and a nice pink colour. Hence it gets a reluctant 4 out of 10. You can read more about it on the Born Free website here.

The Nuby Straw Cup

Nuby Straw Cup

Rating: 7/10
RRP: £3.49

This one has me so divided.

There’s so much I love about it: it’s insulated; it holds a good amount of liquid; the straw is really soft and gentle on the gums; your child can drink from it without tipping it up or back; it will not leak at all when shut; it has a decent price tag; and the colours/design and lovely!

But… the negatives are just too big to ignore. Firstly, the straw doesn’t reach right to the bottom! This means approximately 2oz of liquid always ends up going to waste. I’ve tried to get a photo of this:

Nuby Straw Cup

Secondly, cleaning is a bit of nightmare. The parts are so difficult to clean inside of, so I have to take it all apart and put it in the dishwasher everytime I want to clean it.  What a shame as this remains my daughter’s favourite, but for these reasons, I had to give it a 7 out of 10 and not more. You can read more about it at the Nuby website here.

The Munchkin Click Lock Straw Cup
Munchkin click lock straw cup

Rating: 9/10
RRP: £4.00

This one is also BPA free and dishwasher safe. However, the biggest plus point about this cup is that the straw reaches all the way to the bottom, hooray! Khadija can slurp up every last bit of her favourite smoothie in this.

It’s very easy to clean and reassemble. The shape of the cup is also fun; its like a flattened cylinder, so Khadija can get her tiny hands around it easily.

Munchkin click lock straw cup

The straw is slightly harder than the Nuby straw, but that doesn’t seem to bother Khadija. Once the top part of the cup is “clicked” into place and the straw closed, it doesn’t leak. However, it would’ve gotten a full 10/10 from me if the straw would also “click” shut; as it is, Khadija can easily leave it half open and throw her cup around (as you do) and then sometimes u do get slight spillage.

But that’s a super small reason not to buy this cup, to be honest. For the price and straw length alone, I think this is one of the best cups on the market. You can read more about it on Munchkin’s website here.

The NUK Magic Cup

Nuk Magic Cup

Rating: 9/10
RRP: £9.50

I have to admit that when I first handed this to Khadija, I had very little confidence that she’d figure out how to use it. But, I stand corrected! Essentially, this is a training cup to help toddlers learn how to drink from regular cups/glasses. However, there is a silicone ring that creates a seal around the rim, so that until you take a sip, no liquid leaks through!

Nuk Magic Cup

At first, she just held it on her lips and looked utterly confused at why nothing was coming out. But it didn’t take long for her to learn how to sip and “suck” the water out!

I love this cup: the designs are so much fun (Khadija loves to point out the animals with her tiny fingertips) and one of the best, best, best parts for parents is how easy it is to clean! Like all the cups reviewed, its BPA free and dishwasher safe.

The only reason I gave this 9 and not 10/10, however, is the price tag; this one is the most expensive cup of the four I’ve reviewed. But its a great way to teach your child how to use cups properly with NO messy spillage! You can read more about it on NUK’s website here.

At the moment, we use the Munchkin straw cup when we’re out and about, and for drinking smoothies in. At home, we use the NUK magic cup for water at and in-between meal times.

So there you have it, friends. And now I have some questions for you:
– Have you used any of these cups?
– Which type of cup does your baby/toddler prefer?
– Was this review helpful for you?
– What did you have for dinner last night? (I mean, why not?)

Let me know in the comments below, and thanks for reading!


Thank-you to Munchkin and NUK for sending me your cups to review! The Nuby and Born Free cups were my own purchases, and all opinions expressed her are my own.


Shared with:

#ToddlerApprovedTuesday
3 thoughts on “Which Toddler Cup is Right For You?

  1. Maha Khan says:

    I. Love everything with pink and purple here. They are all so super cute just like baby K:) peace and blessings on both of you. Keep it up. Perhaps one day you’ll have your own Restaurant one in Isloo and one in London

  2. Henna says:

    I love this post because I know soon enough I’m going to need to transition my daughter over from bottles, and I’ve been out of the game for a while because my son is 4.5.
    One thing I will say though, is that I personally HATED the Munchkin Click Lock Straw! I could never seem to get the straw back into the correct place after cleaning it.
    I do agree though, the Magic Cup is a great idea!

Have a thought? Share it here!

