Chocolate Beetroot Loaf Cake

Hello friends,

I write this sitting at my mother’s dining table in London, with my 15-month old daughter sitting in her chair opposite. She’s currently laughing her little head off, as she casually flicks her olives across the room. Yep, I think that pretty much sums up my life right now.

Oh and I’m also eating cake! A slice of moist, utterly satisfying chocolate beetroot cake, to be precise.

Chocolate Beetroot Loaf Cake | Eat, Write, Be!

I’m so excited to share this recipe as its my own creation! Not long ago, I would not have been confident enough to create a cake recipe from scratch. So I was ecstatic when this one turned out so nice and soft. And best of all, it’s refined sugar-free, which meant I had no qualms about giving some to my little one 🙂

But first, let’s discuss this beetroot-in-a-cake business. I didn’t actually use beetroots here; I used beetroot powder. Did you know that beetroot powder is high in iron and vitamin C? It’s well known that vitamin C strongly enhances the absorption of iron (that’s why a lot of people drink fresh orange juice with iron-rich meals), so the fact that both are present here makes this an incredible superfood!

Chocolate Beetroot Loaf Cake | Eat, Write, Be!

The beetroot powder has a brilliant hot pink shade to it, pretty much the same as fresh grated beetroots, BUT… using the powder means you don’t get the stains all over your hands, clothes and face (yes, face… I’ve been there).

I was worried that by skimping on fresh beets I wouldn’t get the moistness that they are traditionally used for. But I was pleasantly surprised at how deliciously soft this turned out anyway!

You’ll note that the temperature this is baked at is lower than usual. This is because instead of sugar, the cake is sweetened with a combination of honey and date nectar, which would have burnt at a higher temperature.

Have you ever used beetroot powder before? I’d love to hear how in the comments below. Also tell me what’s the weirdest vegetable you’ve ever used in a dessert, and if you’ll try this recipe 🙂

Chocolate Beetroot Loaf Cake | Eat, Write, Be!

CHOCOLATE BEETROOT LOAF CAKE
Ingredients:

1.5 cups self-raising flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup cocoa
2 tbsp beetroot powder
125g butter, melted
2 eggs
1 cup milk (with 2 tbsp removed and discarded)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract (or vanilla bean paste)
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup date nectar*

*if you don’t have date nectar to hand, you can simply use honey instead, or even maple syrup.

Preheat your oven to 160 degrees Celsius (325 degrees Fahrenheit). Lightly grease a loaf tin, then line it with baking parchment.

In one bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, cocoa and beetroot powder with a whisk till everything is combined.

In another bowl, combine the melted butter, eggs, vanilla and honey (don’t forget to discard two tbsp from the milk first). Whisk everything by hand, then gently stir in the flour mix.

Bake in your preheated oven for 50-60 minutes (check from 50 minutes onwards by inserting a toothpick or skewer into the middle, and seeing if it comes out clean).

Once the cake is baked, let it cool for 10 minutes in the tin, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Beetroot Loaf Cake | Eat, Write, Be!


Disclaimer: Indigo Herbs very kindly sent me some beetroot powder to review and create something yummy with. However, I did not receive any financial compensation from them, and ALL opinions expressed are my own 🙂

27 thoughts on “Chocolate Beetroot Loaf Cake

  1. siddiqassadiq says:

    What a perfect read first thing this morning. Thanks to you I’ll be craving a slice of that all day!
    To answer your question I think the “craziest veggie ” I’ve tried in baking (besides beetroot and zucchini ) is sweet potato!
    Cheers

    • Habiba says:

      Thanks so much Carolyn. Truth be told, it was my first beetroot cake too! The overwhelming taste is chocolatey and you cannot really taste the beet powder 🙂

  2. The Anxious Dragon says:

    This cake looks fabulous, and because it contains beetroot, it surely must count as one of your 5 a day??
    Thank you for linking up, Tracey xx #abitofeverything

  3. El says:

    Oh…never used beetroot powder but looks interesting and yummy! I’ve bookmarked this page and will give it a go as we’re such Cake lovers here. I have been on a low Carb diet for quite a while now, so this recipe would be perfect.

  4. Amira says:

    This is comfort food in its healthiest .. what a great creation this is. I’ve never heard for that powder before may be it is time to look for it. Lovely and guilt free . Facebooking it immediately :).

  5. thesingleswan says:

    I am just so impressed that you have managed to get your 15 month old daughter to eat olives. It took me about 15 years to develop my palette to the levels of sophistication that olives require. My 14 month old son spits out anything that is not really really bland. Thanks for the recipe. Apparently beetroot is good for high blood pressure – although possibly not so good in a chocolate cake. #babybrainmonday

    • Habiba says:

      Haha, the olives… I have to admit I introduced them by accident! She grabbed one off my plate one day and seemed to like it so I gave her another… and then another… And then of course there are the days when she flicks anything and everything across the room lol. Thanks so much for stopping by!

    • Habiba says:

      Thank-you so much!! I’m trying to create more and more sugar-free recipes. I haven’t managed to cut out sugar from my diet together but definitely decreased a lot. x

  6. absolutely prabulous says:

    Oh man I wish you’d written this post earlier. We just threw out 3 super expensive pots of red beets powder that a friend had sent from Australia as they were just too heavy going on my system. Was meant to take it each day but I reacted. THIS would have been a much better way to consume it! I’m so impressed you created this! Wow the date nectar…can’t be found here in Malta unfortunately but I can imagine how fab an ingredient it is. Thanks for linking to #BabyBrainMonday

    • Habiba says:

      Wow, you gave the beetroot powder a go on its own? I opened the packet and stuck my nose right in and sniffed, and…. woah. lol. I definitely prefer mixing superfoods with something than taking them straight up… Btw you can totally make this with 2 fresh beets pureed instead 🙂

Have a thought? Share it here!

