What She Wore

Ask a pregnant woman why she wants to have a girl, and 9 times out of 10 the reply will be “because baby girl clothes are so much nicer!” Sorry boys, I have to agree. The options for girls are just so damn gorgeous! Though, I’m probably impartial because I have a little girl to dress. And truth be told, choosing her clothes in the morning is my FAVOURITE part of the day ๐Ÿ™‚

So, now that I’m blogging more and discovering many more parenting blogs too, I have been wanting to do a “baby outfit of the day” type post for ages. I love looking at flat lays of baby clothes on other mama blogs, but wondered… am I cool enough to do this?

In short, no. Let’s face it, I’m anything but “cool” these days. I’m sleep-deprived. I’m singing bizarre songs in my most high-pitched voice as I try and distract my daughter into eating just one. more. spoon. PLEASE! Also, I haven’t heard new musicย in ages because I’m too scared to turn the radio on in my car in case she wakes up. Oh, and I still sometimes wear my maternity yoga pants. To put this into context… I haven’t been pregnant for 15 months.

So screw worrying if I’m a loser for spending my evening placing and photographing baby clothes because as established… I’m not doing anything else remotely cool anyway! ๐Ÿ˜›

Baby girl clothes flat lay

Sweater: Baby Gap| Jeggings: BHS| Full-sleeved bodysuit: Baby Gap| Shoes: Mothercare

Khadija wore this outfit to a soft-play centre last week. We were there for her friend Laily’s 3rd birthday, who just so happens to be the first “baby” friend that came to the hospital to meet Khadija when she was born. Just one of the many reasonsย Laily is very special for us ๐Ÿ™‚

Baby girl clothes flat lay

Knitted dress and shoes: Gymboree| Leggings: M&S

This outfit was a present for Khadija from the US (we don’t have Gymboree in the UK). In general, I don’t like US brands too much; the difference in quality between US and UK baby clothes is really big! But of course there are many exceptions, such as this knit dress, and those shoes!! Unfortunately though, they kept slipping off, even though they are the right size…

Baby girl clothes flat lay

Dungarees: Zara| Bodysuit: Carters| Leggings: Tu| Shoes: Next

Last but not least, this is a mish-mash outfit (my favourite kind). The Zara dungarees were from trendy Aunty Nazish.

If you love oogling at baby clothes too, then check out these posts by This Mama Lifeย and Treasure Every Momentย too.ย Hope you had a great weekend, wherever you are reading this ๐Ÿ™‚

Shared with:

This Mama Life

31 thoughts on “What She Wore

    • Habiba says:

      You know what, I hardly buy things for Khadija because she has such awesome aunts that give her so many things (like you do for your nieces!) Thanks so much for stopping by x

  1. Emaan says:

    I actually love baby boy clothes….so simple jeans and a t-shirt and you’re good to go! Girls just have too much going on…it’s bad enough having to dress myself (first time mum…obviously knackered….obviously completing one million tasks a day….and just lazy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This Mama Life says:

    Wow what gorgeous little outfits! Loving your flat lays ๐Ÿ™‚ The jumper in the first outfit is such a lovely colour. Loving the knitted dress and little Red shoes, I really should buy Little I some more Red! And that dungaree dress is adorable! Thank you so much for linking up with us and sharing these pretty outfits. Hope you had a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ #weekendministyle

    • Habiba says:

      Thank-you for hosting, I had so much fun with this post! I will definitely be doing some more and linking up again ๐Ÿ™‚ ps. yes, red on baby girls is so gorgeous!!

  3. Jemila says:

    Wowsy… Looks like u have a stylish little madam on your hands!! What a smashing wardrobe. I have a boy, Ilyas, and its usually jeans and a top for him. Mostly blue’s, blacks, whites and greys. All the dull stuff! But I always get drawn towards the baby girl stuff when shopping…

  4. Maha Khan says:

    Oh sooooo sooooo sooooo cute. Your daughter is gorgeous Mashallah. Allah bless her and Angels be with her all the time. I am going to share your recipe on my blog super Mama. Thank you for such a cute post. I love baby girls and I think they are just sooooo cute

  5. Asieh says:

    Omg Beebs I love love all of your blogs and specially this one. Little girls clothes are too cute to the point where you absolutely forget yourself and become obsessed with dressing them up…and khadija is one stylish little lady. Laily loves khadija so much and all she wanted to do on her birthday was play with her and ignore everyone else..lol

  6. MotherGeek says:

    I have one of each, and have to agree… girls clothes are much better!! My poor son has about 1/3 the amount of clothes his sister does. LOVE the red dress!! PS welcome to #TT_Thursday

  7. Henna says:

    Totally agree- girls clothing is much cuter! I’m having fun dressing Zunaira too ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I didn’t know overalls are called Dungarees! Totally learned something new ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a thought? Share it here!

