10 Reasons to Feed Your Baby Avocados!

Hello friends,

I should start this post with some irony: I hate avocados!

But thankfully, this post isn’t about me; it’s about those little humans we are all trying our best to raise well. And I’m pleased to report that my avocado-hate hasn’t been passed down to my little one. She loves them, and as she is pretty much my inspiration for all my blog posts, I thought it was about time an ode to the humble avocado was due.
10 reasons to feed your baby avocado

1. Easy to prepare
All you have to is run your knife along the middle of the fruit, all the way around, then twist the two halves apart and voila! If it’s ripe and ready, you can scoop out the flesh with a spoon. So easy. No tedious peeling involved.

2. Great for all stages
With some fruits and vegetables, its advised that you wait till your baby is over a certain number of months old before trying them. Avocados, however, make a great first food, even if you’re going down the “baby-led weaning” route as you can simply hand baby a piece to munch on.

3. Freeze well
This is something I’ve had experience with, as I took some avocados to Pakistan with me, pureed them and froze in an ice-cube tray. They were as good as new when defrosted! However, freezing the avocado whole, or in pieces wasn’t as great, so this is more of a tip for the beginning stages of weaning, or if you want to use purees in smoothies for your toddler, or mixed with some yoghurt!

4. Half an avocado contains approximately 67mcg folate
To put that into context, that’s half the recommended daily intake of folate for a 1-3 year old from half an avocado alone!

10 reasons to feed your baby avocado

5. Rich in potassium (vitamin K)
Avocados actually have more potassium than bananas, which is the fruit that traditionally comes to mind when we talk about vitamin K.

6. Filling!
Because of its high fibre and fat content, even a small portion is quite filling. Good to know when you’re out and about and want your kids to stay satiated!

7. Portable
As there is no “cooking” as such involved, these are easy to carry around (like bananas). In fact, if you’re outside and don’t have a knife to hand, the skin is soft enough to peel with your fingers too (that does get messy though, not going to lie!)

10 reasons to feed your baby avocado

8. Full of healthy fats
Children should NOT be on a low-fat diet anyway; they are growing and need good fats for healthy brain and body development. Avocados are very high in these good fats!

9. High in protein
Avocados get a lot of attention for their healthy fat content, and so a lot of people miss the fact that they’re high in protein too! Good for all of us to know, but especially those parents raising kids on a vegetarian diet.

10. Flavour combinations are endless
They can mixed with banana, yoghurt, used as a spread instead of mayo, added to smoothies… and so much more! How do you eat/give your children avocados? Let me know below!

Featured on:

Mummuddlingthrough
Mums' Days
Eats Amazing Fun Food Friday
22 thoughts on “10 Reasons to Feed Your Baby Avocados!

    • Habiba says:

      Oh there are so many things I’m guilty of not introducing to my daughter because I don’t like them myself!! Peanut butter, for example. Ah we’re all doing the best we can, right? Thanks so much for stopping by!

  1. Laura Crichton says:

    You have to include because you can read Avocado baby too! It’s a fab book,

    I love avocado and my daughter used to demolish it. Won’t touch it now but hopefully will learn to love again one day!

  2. Adventures of a Novice Mum says:

    Good reasons, i so wish I tried it more at the start of weaning. I keep meaning to offer it more to my little one. I’ve never tried to freeze it but I’m heard it’s works, as you wrote. Thanks for reminding me of this goal. 🙂 #TheList

  3. Feeding Finn says:

    Don’t love avocado? How can you not love them! I have a slight addiction and share one or two every day with my 4 and 1 yr old. As you state, they are the perfect baby food. I love them mashed with cheese or egg. My eldest loves it mixed with banana or mango!

Have a thought? Share it here!

