6 Reasons Why Shopping with Kids Sucks!

6 Reasons Why Shopping with Kids Sucks

Have you ever been shopping with a baby/toddler? No? Let me paint you a picture please.

1. People ignore your stroller

Seriously. You’re thinking “that friendly-looking lady walking in this direction will probably walk around us. Surely she can see my stroller. Can’t miss it. Surely.”

Guess what? She expects YOU to move out the way and make way for her to pass. Yes, you have become *that* annoying person taking up the space of three adults in the aisle it seems everyone suddenly needs to be in!

2. Baby WILL wake up as soon as you’ve spotted a bargain

Oh look, there’s a sale! You’ve made it to the 70% off rack with what now feels like a gigantic stroller. You can see a top you fell in love with when it was full-priced last week… OMG, there’s only one left in your size. You move away from the stroller, reach up to get it and…

“waaaaahhhhhhh!!!”

Your sweetheart who was previously fast asleep is now wide awake and not-so-angelic anymore, demanding you attend to her RIGHT now. In the seconds that you’ve turned to see if, perhaps by the grace of God that isn’t your child crying, the top is gone.

3. You WILL forget something

Even if you’ve written a list. Even if you’re holding the list in your hand the entire time you’re shopping. You’ll still go back home and realise that you either forgot to put something on the list in the first place (because you were busy getting the baby ready and out of the house), or you momentarily lost the ability to read while you were out because the baby was vying for your attention. Either way, its the the baby’s fault!

4. “Browsing” is no longer an option

If the baby is quiet/asleep/not bothering you, then you better roll up your sleeves and get your shopping done at breakneck speed. Oh and absolutely no eye contact with her please. For some reason, kids think you’re looking at them because you miss them and proceed to giving you the cutest, inviting giggles to distract you from the real reason you are there. No. Just don’t look.

5. Stopping for lunch requires a masterplan

Gone are the days when you feel the tingles of hunger after a fun afternoon of shopping, and stop by wherever the food looks good. No. Now you need to know if your stroller will even fit through the door. Does this place have highchairs? Do they have a changing room? Is there enough lighting for me to be able to see where the baby has flicked all her food? Are they going to take forever to bring me my order (because she and I WILL get restless)? Are the other diners going to judge me when the inevitable meltdown takes place? Is the music too loud for my ageing ears?! Etc etc etc.

6. Some toys never make it back home

We have lost many good friends during a shopping trip (a hand-knitted monkey from my cousin was a particularly traumatic loss). How can you lose a toy, you say? Well, they are simply thrown overboard if little one is inclined to do so. If you don’t take any toys with you, you better have some ingenious way of keeping baby/toddler calm during a meltdown; if you do take a toy (and obviously it has to be something she is acclimatised with) then be prepared for that to possibly be the toy’s last ever day with you.

Dark, I know.

Good times with the Monkey, circa 2014

Disclaimer: This is all for humour-purposes; I love my daughter very much and love shopping with her… No wait, scrap the last part 😛

Featured on:

Life with Baby Kicks
You Baby Me Mummy
Mama Mim
Baby Brain Memoirs
Mummuddlingthrough
55 thoughts on “6 Reasons Why Shopping with Kids Sucks!

  1. Nadia says:

    You lost the monkey!

    Heres a couple more reasons: The baby houdini moments where they try to escape the stroller so they can run around. The grabbing items of clothing whilst you are manoeuvring along the racks. Getting to the checkout to discover items you did not put in the trolley like dog food for your pet free house! Fun times.

  2. sarah says:

    Everytime I shop with kiddo I forget something – even if I have a bloody list! It can be so stressful, in the supermarket I manage to buy some time by giving him a banana but thats like 6 minutes max! #effitfriday

  3. Becky, Cuddle Fairy says:

    lol agreed – shopping with little ones is no fun. It’s also no fun shopping with the bigger ones either! Lunch out takes a huge amount of planning & then I find myself rushing to finish before a meltdown occurs. Happily our daughter is nearly out of that phase – but not fully, so it can still happen when I least expect it. #effitfriday

    • Habiba says:

      Haha yeah the meltdowns occur quite suddenly. One minute you’re surprised the trip is going so well, next minute the entire store is watching a full-blown meltdown take place!!

  4. musingmumma1 says:

    I’m with you! Have lived it all. Five and six particularly ring true. I’m still not over the loss of princess, a pram-overboard casualty. My little one screams the moment we enter a shop that I want to browse in. How do they know? Happy shopping! #effitfriday

  5. Anna Brophy says:

    Yes x6….seriously, it is a tough gig and I am grocery shopping this arvo…boo!!!! The ongoing fight for a ‘treat’, followed by the inevitable melt down for all to observe (&judge) at the checkout… You nailed it. #parentingpics

  6. Robyn says:

    So funny, I enjoyed reading this. I’ve never been shopping with my baby because I pretty much expect all the outcomes you’ve listed here. Thanks for confirming I’m not over-reacting!! #parentingpicks

  7. Rafeeda - The Big Sweet Tooth says:

    I don’t know if I need to roll on the floor laughing! I have two to carry with me and each time I think of going for grocery, my knees jerk… First of all, despite writing down everything I still forget, another the little one does her disapperance act giving me little heart attacks and third, my bill unnecessary goes up thanks to those stupid tantrum for that chocolate and this juice… 😦 Penned nicely dear… 🙂

  8. sisterk1n says:

    Ha ha sadly it doesn’t get any easier the bigger they get. I lost my twins in the frozen food department of Sainsbury’s – cue very reproving looks from all the pensioners that shop there. And recently I actually left my trolley full of shopping outside Co-op (I did remember the kids though!) Motherhood teaches you the difference between go shopping (fun!) and do the shopping (bah!) #ParentingPicks

  9. newmumkaboom says:

    Ha, ha, ha – brilliant. I love this post!
    I recently told my Mum that I prefer ordering my shopping online as it’s easier than taking my (very active) toddler around. She said …I don’t know what is wrong with parents today – we did it in our day, we did it with 2 or 3 kids. I remember those shopping trips – I came home with an earful & a tanned behind… things have definitely changed since her day. I have one happy toddler & slightly less perfect fruit (as I don’t pick it myself).

  10. Silly Mummy says:

    Haha – yes, this is very true. Ironically, the number of times I need to go to the supermarket in a week since having kids has increased 10 fold, as has how much hassle it is to go to there. #babybrainmonday

    • Habiba says:

      I want to say “no we’re not at that stage yet” but of course I’ll only jinx myself and she’ll bring down an entire rack the next time we’re out!!

  11. mummydaddymia says:

    I have completely given up shopping with my 2yr old, I find it near impossible unless iam running in for 1 item and running out again! Your right, there are tantrums, no browsing time and the idea of grabbing lunch too is all to much!! 🙂

    #BabyBrainMondays

  12. mamamim.com says:

    Ha ha this is awesome and so true! I really miss being able to just browse and take my time looking and trying on clothes. Now if I’m lucky enough to even get into a shop I just pick up the nearest thing in my size, pay and go sometimes! Thanks so much for linking up to #ParentingPicks

  13. Kat @ Eat.Love.Live says:

    Haha I love this! I think I have been blessed. Baby Girl loves coming shopping with me and as long as I’m equipped with some snacks she is really good. Your #1 point I can totally relate too though. Nothing gives me mummy rage mlore than people ignoring/ disregarding/ purposely walking in the way of the stroller x

  14. absolutely prabulous says:

    Momentarily lost the ability to read…do the shopping at breakneck speed. Lol. I must admit I was so lucky in this department; this probably sounds like child cruelty but on more than one occasion, when I still lived in the UK, I went to Brent Cross with my first and she was in the pushchair for hours. HOURS. I’ll never forget getting home and taking her out the buggy and putting her on the carpet. I swear to God she’d momentarily lost the ability to crawl.
    Thanks for linking to #BabyBrainMonday

  15. min1980 says:

    Ha ha! I know the feeling. Piglet hates shopping. I think he has an antenna which can tell when Mummy is in a shop and not looking exclusively at him, and then it’s an excuse to start bawling.

  16. ljdove23 says:

    Yup! All of those! The main one for me though is that with four kids, and three under three, by the time I have got all my kids strapped into the trolley there is nowhere for the shopping to go!!! #coolmumclub

Have a thought? Share it here!

