Banana and Dark Chocolate Loaf

Banana and Dark Chocolate Loaf

I love mini things.

My lovely mum bought a mini loaf pan for me, all the way to Pakistan when she came almost two years ago. Unfortunately, it didn’t fit in my small counter-top oven! So it just sat in my kitchen, and this summer I decided to lug it back to London to put to use here.

So glad that I did. I get way more baking done here than in Pakistan. I don’t know why. Perhaps it’s because my mum has a nice, open plan kitchen, whereas in Pakistan our kitchen is sort of cut-off from the other rooms and is much smaller. Whatever the reason, I find myself flagging new recipes to try months before coming here!

Since I’ve been back, I’ve baked the following:

  • a disastrous sweet potato and walnut cake;
  • an even more disastrous pineapple upside-down cake;
  • a much better apple, lemon and yoghurt loaf cake; and
  • this.

Banana and Dark Chocolate Loaves

Adapted from my Good Housekeeping Cakes, Bakes & Cupcakes book, this recipe is meant to be baked in a regular loaf pan. Rather handily, the batter was just enough for my mini loaf pan. So feel free to make this as one loaf; no need to rush out and buy this very pan! Either way, do try this recipe.

It’s SO good!

Think soft banana bread, with tiny, melty, gooey hits of dark chocolate in each bite. Perfect for your breakfast table, or even as a dessert with some ice-cream.

Ingredients

175g/6oz plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
175g sugar
2 eggs
3 ripe bananas, mashed
150g plain, natural yoghurt
150g bar of plain dark chocolate,* roughly chopped**

*the original recipe calls for butterscoth chocolate, so feel free to use that instead.
**you could also use dark chocolate chips instead.

Preheat your oven to 170 degrees Celsius, and either line or lightly grease your loaf pan.

In one bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a separate bowl, whisk the sugar and eggs until they are pale and fluffy (use an electric whisk, unless you have better biceps than me!). Gently stir in the bananas and yoghurt, followed by the chocolate.

Fold in the flour mixture, then pour the mixture into your pan. Bake for 50 minutes and then check if it’s done by inserting a toothpick into the centre and seeing if it comes out clean. Bake for another 10 minutes if need be.

Banana and Dark Chocolate Loaf

15 thoughts on “Banana and Dark Chocolate Loaf

  1. Tasneem says:

    Mmm. This looks delicious, and perfect on this bizarre-ly cold day. You’re definitely making this for me at some point, please.

      • Lotta says:

        તમારા લખાણો પ્રેમ. હું વેબ à Â¿¡Ã ªªÂÂઝê¾àª‡àª¨àª° પણ છું અને એકવાર, આ ‘ઊંચા ગૌરવ લાગે છે’ ફી અમે coz સારી કંઈક ચાર્જ બહાર તે આવ્યા હતા

  2. Abida says:

    It is the disastrous baking incidents that help us to grow and become better cooks! At least that’s what I tell myself when all too often recipes don’t work out for me lol. This looks delish and I love the cute mini tins!

  3. Emma O'Keeffe says:

    That cake sounds delicious, definitely going to have to make it…although I’m tempted to buy a mini loaf tin! xx

Have a thought? Share it here!

