Chicken Tortilla Lasagna

Chicken Tortilla Lasagna

Well, I just realised that this my second back-to-back lasagna recipe on the blog! Though this is not “techincally” a lasagna, I’m calling it that because a) it has layers; b) there’s lots of cheese; and c) its so comforting! In fact, this is one of my all-time favourite comfort foods, so I thought I’d share it with you all today.

Speaking of “comfort”… Can I take a moment to point all you lovely readers to a post I’ve written on another blog on a rather uncomfortable subject: 7 Things No-one Tell You About Having a C-Section. I am currently three months post partum and it’s been quiet a journey! Encouraged by my friends, I’m trying to document as much of it as possible, mostly for selfish reasons (its very therapeutic!) but also in case it can help anybody else in a similar situation.

Anyway, I first tried this recipe when my Aunty was in Pakistan, and I asked her to teach me something new.  She pulled out this recipe and told me it was from her trusted “Best of Bridge” cookbook. This was the second time she had introduced me to a recipe from it (the first being Banana Bread) so I decided I needed to get my hands on the book the next time I was in London.

But no matter how high and low I searched, it seemed it wasn’t available in the UK! Eventually, she sent it over for me from Canada and I’ve been flagging up recipes to try from it ever since.

Best of Bridge Cookbook

If you like lasagna (who doesn’t?!) then you will love this. Its perfect as a meal on its own, but quite heavy! So you could also serve it in smaller slices as a side dish (and it can easily be made ahead and baked on the day, so its a good one to flag up for a dinner party).

Ingredients: (adapted from “The Best of The Best and more”)

8 flour tortillas
1 roast/rotisserie chicken, shredded
3/4 tsp cumin powder
2 cups sour cream
1.5 cups grated cheddar cheese
2 cups hot salsa*

*Please don’t use mild salsa. The sour cream really mellows out the overall taste in this dish, so anything milder than hot salsa will be too bland. If you live in the UK, see this link for the Asda one I use.

First of all, use your hands to roughly shred up the chicken. You should end up with about 3 cups worth. Put this into a large mixing bowl, and add the cumin, sour cream and 1 cup of the cheese (keep the remaining half cup aside for now).

You can make this in any casserole dish, but I prefer to use my 9″ cake pan, lined with foil.

Now, spread about 1 heaped tablespoon worth of salsa on one side of each tortilla. To layer up, place one of the tortillas in the cake pan salsa side down, and top with some of the chicken mixture. Again, put another tortilla on top of the chicken, salsa side down, and top with more of the chicken. Repeat this until all the tortillas are layered up. Pour over the remaining salsa on top of the last one, and sprinkle over the remaining cheese.

Chicken Tortilla LasagnaBake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius for approximately 25 minutes, or until the cheese has browned.

Chicken Tortilla Lasagna

To serve, use your sharpest knife so that you can slice it up like a pizza without the layers getting messy! This can generously serve four people as a main meal on its own.

Salad

Served alongside a simple, fresh salad

5 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Lasagna

  1. MyNinjaNaan says:

    yayyyy you’re back! Wonderful recipe my friend! Perfect for a busy mama 🙂
    Btw, I read the your c-section post and I couldn’t agree more. I too had an emergency c-section, and I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. People often joke around and say that you birthed your child painlessly, but the pain that follows is no joke. It took me a whole year before I could say that I was feeling back to my pre-ceseraen self. And you’re right, there aren’t many resources that can mentally prepare you for what a c-section brings.

Have a thought? Share it here!

