Baked Oatmeal Breakfast Goodness!

I recently discovered a Whole Foods Market and spent a good couple of hours strolling through the aisles, in complete awe of how delicious healthy food could look! I grabbed a box of muesli and imagined many a breakfasts eating “proper” food, but unfortunately I could not for the life of me stomach it. Granola, muesli, oats on their own, oats as porridge… that whole family of foods just does not leave me feeling satisfied! Yet I know these are amazingly nutritious, wholesome foods that my body would really appreciate, and so want to eat more healthily…

So when I came across some recipes that incorporate muesli, I jumped at the chance to use up my box and discover a new way to enjoy it. Here is one such recipe.

Baked oatmeal with blueberries and bananas!

Baked oatmeal with blueberries and bananas!

This recipe is really great for breakfast (or suhoor). I would, however, advise making it the night before because let’s face it, who has the energy to start baking as soon as they open their eyes!

I love the idea of an almost custard-like accompaniment to the oats, as well as the sharp taste of the fresh blueberries, against the sweetness of the bananas. So many textures with each bite!

Ingredients:
Recipe adapted from Chocolate and Chillies

1 large banana, sliced
1/2 cup blueberries
1.5 cups muesli
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon powder
1 tbsp ground chia seeds (optional)
Pinch of salt
4 tbsp brown sugar
1 cup of milk
1 egg, lightly beaten
2tbsp vegetable oil
1tsp vanilla bean paste (or extract if you don’t have paste)

Place the banana slices in a single layer in your baking dish. Scatter over a handful of blueberries, reserving some.

Bananas and blueberries

In one bowl, mix all the dry ingredients together: muesli, baking powder, cinnamon powder, ground chia seeds, salt and sugar.

In a separate bowl, combine the wet ingredients: milk, egg, oil and vanilla paste.

First cover the banana slices and blueberries with the dry muesli mix; then, top with the wet egg mixture. Finally, scatter over the remaining blueberries.

Bake for approximately half an hour, or until it is set. Leave to cool and serve (if eating after a while, I like to warm up some in a bowl for 30 seconds in the microwave first). Refrigerate any leftovers.

Baked oatmeal

Link up your recipe of the week
5 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal Breakfast Goodness!

  1. NADIA says:

    I have been eating muesli every morning for suhoor… Was starting to get bored of it! Must try this instead … Thank you! X

  2. Asiya @ Chocolate and Chillies says:

    Hopped over here from My Ninja Naan! So glad the oatmeal turned out well. I had 6 boxes of muesli I got for free and I couldn’t stomach it either….I really liked it when I used it in some baking but on it’s own it was too difficult to eat. Look forward to exploring your blog some more!

Have a thought? Share it here!

