Apricot Chutney

Chutney is an interesting condiment that most people don’t really appreciate until they’re adults. At least in my mind, I always think of chutney as very “adult” food! Now, I could eat chutney with any and every thing, but for some reason as a child I always stayed away from it…

Apricot chutney sitting in a bed of fresh mint in our garden.

Apricot chutney sitting in a bed of fresh mint in our garden.

There are so many different varieties of chutney; this one has made it to the blog mainly because the recipe is completely my own! After much trawling of the Internet to find the perfect apricot chutney recipe, I noted down ingredients and measurements from the ones that caught my eye the most. I then tried out a first batch, adjusted and removed some ingredients and here is my final recipe, that has been appreciated so much I had to share it after a five-month blogging hiatus!

Before I get to it, I also want to take a moment to share where these particular apricots came from. My mother and her family come from a beautiful village in the North of Pakistan. The tiny village known as “Chehr” is not one you can find a Wikipedia entry on. In fact, not even most Pakistani’s will have heard of it! The devastating earthquake in 2005 which destroyed nearby Balakot helps us to now put in context where it is whenever anyone asks.

Fresh apricots

These lovely, delicate apricots are from this very village, which we still visit every once in a while! I love that some of the ingredients we use in this part of the world come with their own history, like the lemons in my Cinnamon Lemon Cheesecake 🙂

This recipe makes just over 2 cups of chutney.

Ingredients:

1kg (just over 2lb) fresh apricots, peeled, seed removed and chopped in half
250g onions, thinly sliced
200g brown sugar
200g white sugar
100g raisins
1 cup (200ml) white vinegar
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 tsp red chilli powder
1 tsp salt

Put everything into a pot altogether, and cook (covered) on a medium-low flame until the mixture has come together to a sort of jam-like consistency. This will take approximately two hours.

How it looks as it cooks...

How it looks as it cooks…

If it is still quite runny, try removing the lid for a while to let any excess liquid evaporate.

Now here’s the most important part: pour it into a sterilised jar, label it and share it with your family and friends!

7 thoughts on “Apricot Chutney

  1. Nadia says:

    Mmmmm…. Any chance you can bring this out to the UK?! Looks so tasty… Perhaps Emaan could make a little something to compliment the chutney!!!

  2. Hina says:

    sometimes I envy people who have villages. I always think I’m missing out on so much and the apricots prove me right! The pleasure of having to pluck apricots from your very own field is out of this world!
    Looks good. will try this out tomorrow.

  3. Laleen says:

    Mmm.. even as a kid I loved chutney more than ever. My plate would have more chutney than food on it! Never had “apricot chutney” though! Can’t wait to try this out!

    • Habiba says:

      Hi Dasa! I like chutney scooped up with bread, and also with vegetables. But it is extremely versatile and you can use it with many things. My mother-in-law spreads it on toast! Similarly, you could put in a sandwich with some slices of cheese… Do experiment and let me know what you do with it 🙂

Have a thought? Share it here!

