Homemade Yoghurt

Homemade yoghurt

So as I mentioned in a recent post, I’ve started drinking/using fresh buffalo milk now. Prior to moving to this part of the world, I’d never tasted buffalo milk before, and it definitely takes some getting used to! But because of its higher fat content, the texture is amazing for making homemade dairy products such as yoghurt.

Yoghurt is so easy to make at home. I make my own yoghurt at least twice or thrice a week now and would highly recommend giving it a go! You don’t need any fancy equipment or skills; just follow the recipe below and make sure to note  some of my tips at the end.

As you can see in my photos, I’ve used a clay pot that I had at home, as these are reknowned for their ability to retain heat. In my recipe below, you’ll see why this is important. However, it is by no means essential that you buy a clay pot to make yoghurt! I’ve also made perfect homemade yoghurt in a glass bowl and in a plastic boxes.

Homemade yoghurt

And remember, yoghurt is a massive source of essentials your body requires, such as  protein, calcium and vitamins B6 and B12. Interestingly, even lactose-intolerant people can sometimes tolerate yoghurt. And the amount of recipes you can utilise it in are countless! So go ahead and make up a big batch and it’ll all be used up before you know it 🙂

Ingredients: 

1 litre of milk*
2 tablespoons of live yoghurt**

*note: for the yoghurt pictured I used 1.5 litres of milk

**this will be your “culture” (i.e. the bacteria that will cause the milk to ferment. For the first time you make yoghurt, you can buy some to use, but after that you can go ahead and you some of your homemade yoghurt as culture. When you buy yoghurt to use, make sure it is “live” (i.e. naturally set). Greek-style yoghurt for example, will not work.

First of all, boil the milk till it just begins to rise, then set it aside till it cools. You want it to be lukewarm: basically, when you can dip your finger into the milk and not get scalded, and its still quite very warm to the touch.

Then, you stir in your culture, and pour the whole thing into a plastic box with a lid. Wrap the box with a tea towel and put it somewhere where no drought will come in (such as inside an oven–turned off of course!) *see my tips below for more options

The yoghurt will take at least 5-6 hours to set properly. That’s why I always make yoghurt right before I go to bed. Then, when I wake up, it’s ready just in time for breakfast!

Homemade yoghurt

*if you leave the yoghurt somewhere cold, it will not set properly. This is less of a problem during summer months, but in winter you have to be extra careful when making yoghurt. What I do then is preheat my oven at 160 degrees Celcius (320 degrees Farenheit) for approximately 15 minutes while I’m waiting for the milk to cool. Then I switch it off. Meanwhile I go ahead with the recipe, then put it to set in the warm oven.

*alternatively, you can also heat up whatever you’re going to set the yoghurt in as well. That’s what I did with the clay pot, as even though it retains heat really well, it also takes longer to heat up too. If I had just poured the yoghurt straight into it, it would’ve been far too cold for it to set properly.

Check out the following news items related to yoghurt:

Homemade yoghurt

11 thoughts on “Homemade Yoghurt

  1. Ob says:

    Hey Beebo,
    I really like the last picture of this post.
    Can visitors post their recipies on your blog as well? If so, here is my favourite youghurt recipie. It is a simple 4 step process:

    INGREDIENTS:
    1) Car
    2) Tesco or Sainsbury.
    3) Spoon

    METHOD:
    1) Get in your car and drive to your nearest Tesco.
    2) Buy yoghurt, go back home and put it in the refrigirator.
    3) Wait for an hour.
    4) Grab a spoon, open the lid of your ready to eat yoghurt and enjoy the cold treat.

    I loved the cake you made the other day. Too bad it was finished when I raided the fridge at night. Great blog… I will be reading it often.

    O B

    • HA says:

      And the award for “best comment(s) ever” goes to OB!! I was going to surprise you with these pics as guess what… I took them all on manual still got a long way to go with the photography but thanks so much for the super helpful masterclass. Really enjoying taking photos much more now!

Have a thought? Share it here!

