Baguette and Butter Pudding

Bread and butter pudding is one of my favourite winter desserts. But being British, that’s probably a given isn’t it? With 10 months of the year being “winter” back in London, warm, hearty dishes like this are always well-recieved. Now that its chillier on the Eastern side of the world too, I gave my first-ever bread and butter pudding a go. Except… I used a baguette!

Baguette and butter pudding

At first I thought I was being “out there” and pioneering a new type of pudding… Until I googled “making bread and butter pudding with a baguette” and lo and behold, none other than Mr Gordon Ramsey himself has already penned a recipe for this! That put me firmly back in my amateur boots.

sliced baguette

This recipe is great, extremely easy to follow and the simple flavours are delicate and delicious on the tongue. My husband tasted this for the first time and stamped his seal of approval. I’m an old fan of the dish and felt like I’d been transported back to my mother’s kitchen with every bite!

Baguette and butter pudding

I’ve adapted Mr Ramsey’s recipe slightly, only because I was in a rush and really wanted to make this so tried to make things a bit easier for myself, like using 4 whole eggs, instead of 2 eggs and 2 egg yolks.You can find his recipe on this pretty blog, Always With Butter. Otherwise, here’s my adaptation:

Ingredients:

1/2 a baguette, thinly sliced
50g butter, softened
750ml (3 cups) milk
200ml double cream
4 eggs
3-4 tablespoons sugar (according to how sweet you like your desserts)
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/4 tsp cinammon powder

First of all, take some butter and grease your baking dish. Then, spread the rest of the butter on all the baguette slices.

Meanwhile, heat the milk and cream till they reach boiling point, then turn off the heat and let the mixture cool to lukewarm.

Whisk the eggs and sugar together till well-combined, then whisk in the vanilla essence. Add the egg mixture to the milk and cream.

Place half the baguette slices in a layer in the dish:

First layer of bread

Cover with half the milk-eggs mixture. Then repeat this layering process:

Layered pudding

Leave the dish for approximately 15 mins so the baguette slices soak up the mixture well. During this time, preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius (350 degrees farenheit). Then sprinkle over the cinnamon before baking (uncovered) for 40-45 mins; it should be set and light brown when ready.

Wait 5-10 minutes before serving. Make yourself a nice cup of tea and enjoy 🙂

Baguette and butter pudding

One thought on “Baguette and Butter Pudding

Have a thought? Share it here!

