Classic Tiramisu

I plucked “Classic Tiramisu” from the BBC’s Good Food ME magazine  (Oct ’11) as the first recipe to make for my new blog. The original recipe in the magazine is by the Italian head chef at Caffè Florian in Venice, and is called his “to-die-for-tiramisu.” It appeared in this Middle East edition of Good Food as they’ve recently opened a branch in Abu Dhabi (and Harrods–note to self, must visit when next in London!)

I made very little changes to the recipe, substituting only a few ingredients (such as cream cheese for mascarpone, and cake rusk for lady fingers, details below). I was also a little uncomfortable using raw egg yolks, so I cooked them with the sugar over a pot of boiling water for a few minutes, whisking continuously as I did so. I made only half the recipe, but have written out the full recipe below.

plz ignore my messy bowl! put it down to my new-ness at this

Verdict: really easy to make, and apart from the waiting time while it cools, it took very little time to put together. Tastes delicious, with simple flavours coming through. A little rich, so definitley not an everyday dessert, but probably the best tiramisu recipe I have come across and tried.

Ingredients (and my substitutes in brackets):

500g mascarpone cheese (or cream cheese)
4 egg yolks
160g caster sugar
5 drops of almond essence
400g double cream, whipped
1 vanilla pod, de-seeded (or 1tsp vanilla essence)
2 packets of lady fingers (or approx 500g cake rusk)
2tsp coffee beans
1 cup water, boiled

Start by simmering a little water in a small pot. Meanwhile, seperate the 4 eggs and put the yolks in a bowl. Add the sugar and put the bowl on top of the pot of simmering water. Using a whisk, keep mixing the eggs and sugar till they are fully combined and pale in colour. It should look something like this:

Be careful not to overcook the eggs; 2-3 minutes is enough.

Wait till the mixture cools a little, then stir in the almond essence and vanilla seeds/essence. Then stir in the mascarpone (or cream cheese).

In a seperate bowl, whip your double cream, then stir it into the cheese mixture too.

Dissolve the coffee in the boiling water and pour into a bowl. This will be your soaking liquid for the ladyfingers. I couldn’t find ladyfingers here in Pakistan, and though I did find many recipes to make them at home, I decided to try using cake rusk instead.

I simply dipped each in the coffee liquid for a second and then put it in my serving bowl. Once you have a layer of whichever you decide to use, cake rusk or lady fingers, pour over half the cream mixture. Repeat this once more.

Cover with some cling wrap and refrigerate for a good couple of hours. Finally, sieve a generous coating of cocoa powder on top before serving.

yep, definitley investing in a nicer serving bowl for my next post!

10 thoughts on “Classic Tiramisu

  1. siddiqa says:

    I am extremely interested in knowing how the cake rusk tasted, as I think that’s an awesome substitute! Also .. next time you want to substitute for mascarpone, try one of the following: either add 2 tablespoons of sour cream with 1/4 cup heavy cream .. or .. if you can try making cottage cheese ( very rich ) then add that as well…your next project should be to import these awesome ingredients.. 🙂

      • siddiqa says:

        ladyfingers don’t soften right away. cake rusk, yes we get it here .. i have always made tiramisu with ladyfingers though.
        that’s why the whole cake rusk thing sounded interesing
        however, when i come to think of it, that’s right, cake rusks soak up way faster than ladyfingers.
        a friend of mine uses ” marie” biscuits / tea biscuits … that actually works rather well !
        did everyone like your dessert 🙂 ?

  2. Lawyer Loves Lunch says:

    So glad you’re food blogging! You know I have a special place in my heart for all things food. Plus, I’m really fascinated to see the breadth of ingredients available in Pakistan. When I was there, we couldn’t find any cheese much less mascarpone or cream cheese 🙂

    • HA says:

      Yay ur visit has made my blogging day 🙂 More things are becoming available now because of the gazillion cooking shows on tv, but although we can get cream cheese, unfortunately its the bottled kind, not fresh… so thats why this blog is going to be a bit of a challenge!

  3. JL says:

    If I had a list of top 10 best bloggers, you my child would be right on the top!Funny how such a big world can connect through the means of the internet and share stuff instantly!

Have a thought? Share it here!

